All events are in Central time unless specified.

Moran Woodwind Quintet Performance

Date: Time: 7:30 pm
Westbrook Music Building
Additional Info: WMB
Contact: Brian Reetz, (402) 472-6865,
The Moran Woodwind Quintet’s upcoming recital will be on November 4, 2018 in Westbrook Recital Hall, and will feature the premiere of a new woodwind quintet by California bassoonist and composer, John Steinmetz, titled All the Difference. The work was commissioned by the Glenn Korff School of Music at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Cast in four movements, the piece explores and exploits the variety of sounds available to a woodwind quintet.

Also on the program are several standard works for woodwind quintet, including the August Klughardt Quintet, op. 79, a staple of the late 19th-century Romantic literature for quintet. The program opens with Ferenc Farkas’s tuneful Early Hungarian Dances from the 17th Century, and includes a transcription of a keyboard work by Jan Pieters Sweelinck, his Variations on a Folksong, arranged by Ernest Lubin.

One of the most active and visible quintets in the Midwest, the Moran Woodwind Quintet is the resident faculty woodwind quintet of the Glenn Korff School of Music. Formed in 1986 and named for the late John Moran, director of the University of Nebraska–Lincoln School of Music, the Quintet has toured extensively, including performances in Kansas, Iowa, Ohio, Missouri, Colorado, Oklahoma, Illinois, South Dakota, Arkansas and Texas.

Jeffrey McCray, bassoon
Diane Barger, clarinet
John Bailey, flute
Alan Mattingly, horn
William McMullen, oboe

Free and open to the public.

Live Webcast:


Download this event to my calendar