All events are in Central time unless specified.

Percussion Ensemble Performance


Date: Time: 7:30 pm
Kimball Recital Hall
Additional Info: KRH
Contact: Brian Reetz, (402) 472-6865,
The University of Nebraska Percussion Ensemble presents “Cloud Folk,” an exciting program of imaginative music composed within the last few years, almost all of which will be heard for the first time in Nebraska. The concert is anchored by the John Psathas composition of the same name. According to Psathas:

“The Cloud Folk are (imaginary) visitors to earth, invisibly parked in our upper atmosphere, observing 21st century human behavior. I’d imagined an arrival driven by optimism, intense curiosity, and excitement; followed quickly by incomprehension, shock, and the hastiest possible departure (back into a wondrous universe teeming with life). With no contact made, in fact avoided at all costs, we were never aware we’d been visited. The music loosely follows this narrative.”

Several of the selections on the concert are a meditation on the natural beauty of the earth, contrasted by other selections that contemplate a world long after humanity is gone. The program includes: “Honeybee, 1820” by Evan Chapman, “Consider the Birds” by Ryan George, “A Natural History of Vacant Lots” by Chistopher Cerrone, “An Index of Possibility” by Robert Honstein, “Decay No. 1” by Matthew Curlee, and “Cloud Folk” by John Psathas.

The Percussion Ensemble is made up of students from the percussion studio, under the
direction of Dave Hall.

Adults $5; Students/Seniors $3

This performance will also be live webcast.


image for event 114662

Download this event to my calendar