All events are in Central time unless specified.


Date: Time: 8:00 am–8:00 pm
Hot Shops Art Center
1301 Nicholas
Omaha Ne 68102
Contact: Alisha, (402) 742-9240,
The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Nebraska Chapter, Central States Regional Council & The Central States Emerging Professionals Committee announce the 2017 AIA Central States Student Design Competition to be held in Omaha, Nebraska on October 4th and 5th.

The annual AIA CSR Student Design Competition is a charrette format design competition held each year. Each of the eight accredited universities in the Central States Region are invited to send a team to compete and represent their school. The top three teams are awarded prize money and bragging rights. The name of the winning team’s university is engraved on the Charles W. Graham Memorial Heartland Trophy, which travels to the winning team’s university until the next competition.

The initial completion was first held in 2012 with the aim of connecting the students with the profession and with the communities where the design competition is held. It was also seen as a way to foster leadership skills, create a venue for sharing knowledge and to connect the students from the architecture programs in the AIA Central Sates Region.

This year’s competition, entitled MAKERS , tasks teams with designing the first block of the New Omaha Maker District referred to as the Arts & Trades District. Each project will include conceptual-level urban designs to include streetscape improvement and exterior public space that acts as a threshold for the new district; and a schematic level architectural design for a renovation and/or addition of the existing 3-story warehouse building on this site. Urban design improvements can be indicated for the full arts district, but should focus on the block bounded by Nicholas Street on the North, Izard Street on the South, North 11th Street on the East and North 13th on the west (see attached map).

The teams competing this year are Drury University, Iowa State University, Kansas State University, The University of Kansas, University of Nebraska, Oklahoma State University, and Washington University in St. Louis.

The charrette will begin at 8:00AM on Wednesday, October 4th when all the teams will meet at the site and will learn for the first time the scope of the project. They will proceed from the site to one of the seven architecture firms in Nebraska that have agree to host a team for the day where they will work on developing their designs which will need to be turned in by 8:00PM that night.

On Thursday October 5th the teams will present their projects at Hot Shops Art Center, 1301 Nicholas Street to a jury that will then select the top three projects. The first place team receives a $4,000.00 cash prize and the Charles W. Graham Memorial Heartland Trophy. The awards jury members are: John Carney, FAIA, Carney Logan Burke Architects, Jury Chair, AIA Nebraska Excellence in Design, Jed Moulton, City of Omaha Urban Design Manager, and Lyn Ziegenbein, Executive Director Emerita at Peter Kiewit Foundation.

From 12:00PM – 1:00PM On October 5, 2017 the public is welcome to review the Competition Entries at Hot Shops Art Center and to meet the student teams.

The wining teams will be announced at the AIA Central States Region & AIA Nebraska Design Awards Gala that evening.

For more information contact:
Sara Kay, Executive Director, American Institute of Architects, NE Chapter, 402.432.3792 and Kevin Flynn,, 314-479-6441

Download this event to my calendar