Upcoming Events

Business & Liberal Arts Career Fair

1:00 pm–5:00 pm Pinnacle Bank Arena
Join us for the 2017 Fall Business & Liberal Arts Career Fair.

Lecture: Sarah Ruffing Robbins

3:30 pm–5:00 pm TBD
Sarah Ruffing Robbins is Lorraine Sherley Professor of Literature and past dean at Texas Christian University. Her most recent book, “Learning Legacies: Archives to Action Through Women’s Cross Cultural Teaching,” but Americanists may know her work …

Humanities on the Edge presents Timothy Scott Brown

5:30 pm–7:00 pm Sheldon Museum of Art
Timothy Scott Brown is Professor of History at Northeastern University. He is the author of West Germany in the Global Sixties: The Anti-Authoritarian Revolt, 1962-1978 (Cambridge, 2013). He is co-editor (with Andrew Lison) of The Global Sixties in …

Poetry in Print: the poetry book and the publishing process

11:00 am Andrews Hall
Three poets, Crystal Gibbins, Adrian Koesters, and Michelle Menting—alum of the Creative Writing PhD Program of the UNL English Dept—offer advice and insights into the process of bringing their poetry to publication: from navigating the typical …

Reading by Bradford Morrow

5:00 pm Great Plains Art Museum
Bradford Morrow will read from THE PRAGUE SONATA, a novel that moves from Nazi-occupied Prague to turn-of-the-millennium New York as a young musicologist seeks to solve the mystery behind an eighteenth-century sonata manuscript.

Panel with Agents and Editors

3:30 pm–5:00 pm Nebraska Union
Panel discussion and Q&A with New York City agents Noah Ballard, Monika Woods, and Jane von Mehren, and editor Morgan Jerkins.

Alumni Reading: Nick White and Devin Murphy

5:00 pm–6:30 pm Great Plains Art Museum
THE BOAT RUNNER, by Devin Murphy, is in the tradition of ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE and THE NIGHTINGALE; an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II. Library Journal writes: “Debut …

Reading and Discussion with Morgan Jerkins

12:00 pm–1:30 pm Andrews Hall
Morgan Jerkins will read from her upcoming debut essay collection, THIS WILL BE MY UNDOING, a book of essays about living at the intersection of black, female, and feminist in (white) America. She’ll also talk about writing, editing, and publishing …

“What Editors Want,” a craft talk with Lynne Barrett

2:00 pm Andrews Hall
Lynne Barrett is a fiction writer, essayist, and editor. She will discuss the craft of writing and her book, WHAT EDITORS WANT: A MUST-READ FOR WRITERS SUBMITTING TO LITERARY MAGAZINES. The book covers the steps in the submission process and how to …

SJ Sindu, author of MARRIAGE OF A THOUSAND LIES

3:30 pm Andrews Hall
Novelist, memoirist, and UNL alum SJ Sindu will discuss her new work: the novel MARRIAGE OF A THOUSAND LIES and the hybrid fiction/nonfiction chapbook, I ONCE MET YOU BUT YOU WERE DEAD.