Women in Art & Pop: On BAD FEMINIST and Representation

Date: Time: 12:30 pm–1:30 pm Location: Andrews Hall
A panel on representation of women in art and popular culture. In conversation will be:

September Poetry Slam featuring Omaha NPS Team

Date: Time: 8:00 pm–10:00 pm Location: Nebraska Union
Come to the UNL City Campus Union in the Crib to watch or participate in the first poetry slam of the semester! This month members of the Omaha Poetry Slam team who competed at the national poetry slam in Chicago this past August will perform a …

Frederick Douglass at 200: ‘Still Doing a Great Job’

Date: Time: 3:30 pm–5:00 pm Location: Andrews Hall
Ezra Greenspan is Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Chair in Humanities at Southern Methodist University. Greenspan is a literary and cultural historian who studies and teaches the history of written communications and media in the United States—from …

Roxane Gay, bestselling author of HUNGER and BAD FEMINIST

Date: Time: 7:00 pm Location: Nebraska Union
*Free and open to the public. No advance tickets/reservations required, but seating is limited. The event will be live streamed by IANR Media (available at unl.edu/english/livestream). After the reading, doors open again for book signing.

Reading: Jordan Farmer

Date: Time: 7:00 pm–8:30 pm Location: Andrews Hall
Jordan Farmer, who received his Ph.D. in English from Nebraska, will read from his new novel, THE PALLBEARER. THE PALLBEARER is an unflinching debut for fans of Frank Bill and Sarah Waters that lays bare the lives of the outsiders of society’s …

Publishing Panel Discussions

Date: Time: 12:30 pm–1:30 pm Location: Andrews Hall
Join us for panel discussions with New York City literary agents and editors, and gain insights into the publishing process, seeking an agent, literary trends, professionalization, etc. (Free and open to all.) Featuring agents Noah Ballard (Curtis …

Publishing Panel Discussions

Date: Time: 3:30 pm–4:30 pm Location: Andrews Hall
Join us for panel discussions with New York City literary agents and editors, and gain insights into the publishing process, seeking an agent, literary trends, professionalization, etc. (Free and open to all.) Featuring agents Noah Ballard (Curtis …

Resume Workshop

Date: Time: 12:30 pm–1:30 pm Location: Andrews Hall
Resume writing workshop for English and Film Studies students

Humanities on the Edge presents Kent A. Ono

Date: Time: 5:30 pm–7:00 pm Location: Sheldon Museum of Art
Kent A. Ono is a professor in the Department of Communication at the University of Utah.

Reading: Marianne Kunkel and Sarah Fawn Montgomery

Date: Time: 5:30 pm–7:00 pm Location: Andrews Hall
Marianne Kunkel, assistant professor of Creative Writing and Publishing at Missouri Western State University, is the author of HILLARY, MADE UP and THE LAUGHING GAME. She holds an MFA in poetry from the University of Florida and a PhD in English from …